‘Space Drifter’ sci-fi screenplay submitted for WGSA Muse Awards 2016

landscape-1328858_960_720.jpg

In 2015, I submitted my first debut screenplay to the Cinequest Screenwriting Competition. It is a space traveling scifi script that I feel is a cross between ‘Serenity‘  and ‘Bourne Identity. I had actually written it specifically for that competition to see if I had taught myself well enough to write a screenplay. I was hoping to be guided by the international judges on how it can be improved and what mistakes I was making. Instead, I received a highly praised recommendation stating that ‘the story has solid bones and great potential’, and ‘we thoroughly enjoyed working through the script’.

As a member of the Writer’s Guild of South Africa, which protects me and my scripts in the film industry, I now have the chance to submit the script to the 2016 Muse Awards. We have been made aware of what the judges look at, but I am looking forward to local judges giving me their opinion on one of their own country’s writers.

So this morning I was advised that the script has been accepted for submission. Over the next two months they will be evaluating and by Dec – Jan we should have some feedback. I may not win, but I am hoping for another recommendation to add to my profile.

In love and grace

The Count of Celenic Earth

Leave a Reply

