NaNoWriMo 2016: Romantic Fantasy Project Announcement

paperpagesNaNoSealed.jpg

It’s that time of the year again! NaNoWriMo is almost upon us, and Prep-Tober (preparation October) is just a few weeks away. Ok, so it doesn’t really feel like a year has passed for me. I had two Camp NaNos, April and July, where I clocked over 50k per camp. Also, with writing Silent Hill, I’ve pretty much kept up the pace.

None of that matters though! NaNoWriMo is an international event. Writers around the world will be typing furiously. If Global Warming heats up again, it will be from the steam of all the millions of brains working for 30 days on their novels. So exciting to be a part of it!

So here’s the announcement. I will finally be giving my fantasy fans what they’ve wanted for so long, waiting in the shadows while I worked on my supernatural horror. I will be returning to my favourite genre. Which means that I will be writing the first Dreamweaving series novel, ‘Dream Whispers’.

I am hoping to give this novel the same feel that Raymond E Feist did with the Riftwar Saga. In essence it will be a romantic fantasy set in a different world, where the magic the female protagonist uses is more for selfish reasons to gain love than for anything else. However, the whole theme will be the consequence of those actions and how she changes what she uses her powers for.

There will be less of a focus on magical creatures this time, and a more personal in-depth look at love, magic and responsibility. In my epic fantasy series, Shadowolf Volume 1: Celenic Earth Chronicles, I created a whole host of creatures in each novel. Some of them were familiar lore, such as elves, dwarves, centaurs, vampires, etc. Others were brand new and exclusive to the series, such as Froth Huns, Crethans and FireStroms. Even ‘Silent Hill: Betrayal’ has creatures both familiar in mythological lore and new ones, due to necessity and the nature of the franchise, but I am taking a step back from that in this one. There might be mention of creatures that live in that world, but the concentration will be on the girl and her abilities.

The novel will also focus on the esoteric nature of dreamweaving, the craft of creating dreams in the dreamscape. It is much like the movie ‘Inception’ with Leonardo Di Caprio, but instead of using gadgets, we’ll use the mind instead. I’ve done  a lot of research in my life on dreams and the art of dreamweaving, so it will be nice to finally put it down into a novel.

Having said that, there will be limited use of any other kind of magical lore. It won’t be an epic fantasy quest like my previous novels, and as such will have a different feel and pace to it. Perhaps more relaxed. Although magic is known to exist in the world I create, there will be very few practitioners of it. It will encourage the protagonist to learn how to deal with her dreams on her own, untainted by the tutelage of others. She will be the first and foremother of dreamweaving.

As for the series itself, there are five books planned for it. I have estimated around 350 pages per novel, but that is always likely to change. With NaNoWriMo, I should be able to reach half of the novel by the end of November, and who knows. Maybe I will be able to have it published and distributed by Christmas this year.

In love and grace

The Count of Celenic Earth

 

Leave a Reply

