Resilience: Dawn of a New World

apocalypse-1325398_960_720.jpg

Welcome to a new South Africa!

Ok, before wide-spread panic / jubilation takes place, this is not what South Africa looks like. Well, not in the real world anyway. That’s right! My mind has just given birth to a new decalogy (ten-part series) called ‘Resilience’, and the first novel will be called “Dawn of a New World”.

Before  I get to what it’s about, let’s start with where I got the idea. I’ve been playing Fallout 4 recently. For those of you not in the know, this is based in a post-apocalyptic America where the protagonist wakes up after 200 years of cryogenic sleep and finds himself in a new, destroyed world.

This story-line was so riveting that I wrote to Bethesda Studios and asked if I could get the licence to adapt the game into a novel. And, as with my request to do the same with the Elder Scrolls series, Bethesda advised that they do not wish to distribute any licences at this time.

But that’s ok…. I’m an author after all. I have the ability to create my own new worlds, disasters, and story-lines. So I am not letting this stop me at all. Instead, I am letting my creativity take me to new heights. Why be a sheep following someone else’s lead when I can be the shepherd, herding in the new dawn?

And so Resilience was born. I couldn’t think of a better title for people that survive an apocalyptic disaster and still thrive in the wasteland after several centuries. For those Fallout players, if you want you can imagine that these are the events that happen in South Africa while the game’s events are taking place in America. It basically answers the question: “What’s happening outside America while this is happening in the game?”

This series will take up a lot of my time and energy compared to what I have achieved so far. The main storyline will take place in the Western Cape, and I am planning on using existing land plots, streets and layouts for the premise of the wasteland. That means re-imaging existing buildings into what they would look like after a world-disaster event. Luckily our province is split up into various wards, which gives me a great opportunity to establish faction wars and conflict.

As for the protagonist? Well, there won’t be one for the entire series as each novel have a story to its own, despite a golden thread that will run throughout. I will also have to develop the key character plots and how they managed to survive. But first, I get to develop the location dynamics, weapons, creatures, factions and items. So exciting times ahead.

I will be sure to update my portfolio soon with this new project, as well as development timelines.

The Count of Celenic Earth

2 thoughts on “Resilience: Dawn of a New World

  1. Ok I will need these in print stat! Put me down for first orders. I am so excited to hear you will be writing these and will look forward to reading any little update you have on your blog! I watched my son play fallout 4 and if only I had the time I would be playing it too – could be a dangerous combination there for a 40+ house wife, especially when I don’t turn the TV on during the day, ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for letting me know. I am surprised by how many requests I am getting for this. Bethesda should have let me adapt Fallout for them. lol. Your name has been added to the pre-order list. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

