Finding the time to write a novel – it’s easier than you think

time-464875_960_720

One of the most surprising questions I have been asked in my time as a published author is “Where do you find the time?”. Truth be told, it is less surprising today as it was in the past. When I originally wrote the Celenic Earth Chronicles, I was single (or at least unmarried) with no kids, so you might understand how the question at hand took me off guard back then. There was a tremendous amount of time to write.

Today though, I am in a wonderful marriage with two glorious kids… with a “farm” of animals that I love and care for too. I work full-time, much harder today than was needed back then. I find the time to research and study the things I love and am passionate about. I also practice martial arts and play guitar. And nothing has changed in my sleeping schedule – I still go to sleep at 11:00pm and awake at 5:30am.

So when people ask me today where I find the time, I appreciate the question more. There have been times in my life where I have been frustrated that I could not seem to find the time to write. Most recently last year. Then, I set upon the National November Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge to write 50k words in November… and suddenly realised that I could do it if I set my heart and mind to it.

I therefore would like to impart this knowledge and experience to you, these simple steps to help you find the time to write that novel you have been putting off since forever. It may assist you, whether you are single or married, whether you are in a dead-end job or one that drains the living life out of you by its mere time-consuming tasks, whether you are academically studying towards a degree or not. I think you too will be surprised at just how easy it can be.

Part 1: Inspiration
Part 2: Preparation
Part 3: Structure
Part 4: Accessibility
Conclusion

5 thoughts on “Finding the time to write a novel – it’s easier than you think

Leave a Reply

