The Screenplay I never thought I’d write

shuttle-642404_640Amid celebrations and happiness this weekend resulting from the release of the Celenic Earth Chronicles, I kept my writer’s hat from falling off and continued working on the screenplay for the upcoming Cinequest screenwriting competition. So far I had just developed some ideas, while changing my mind from using a male protagonist towards a female hero. The decision was made in favour of changing my default thinking patterns. I am so used to automatically creating heroes based on my personality or gender, that I wanted to explore something different just to ensure that I don’t fall into a default setting. I also heard Emma Watson’s call for men to be more active in advocating change in gender inequality when the HeForShe initiative was launched during her address as the Goodwill Ambassador for UN Women. Consider this my stance as an advocate for change, and I don’t feel like less of a man for doing so.

Having said that, my choice towards a more female-hero orientated lead role is not the screenplay I never thought I would write. When I originally saw the competition, the first question that came to mind was “Now what genre would this be?” The site advocates science fiction genres, and I’ve seen a few offers for assignments for science fiction, but I wrote it off originally, knowing full well at that time that I was neither interested nor thought I had the intellectual capacity for a science fiction screenplay. But, as often happens to me, I mentally challenged myself, wondering why I would limit my talents like that. Why was I so opposed to a science fiction screenplay, since the world seems to be calling for them? And, if I did write one, what would it be about?

And so, with the challenge accepted, the idea for a science fiction screenplay was born.

My only experience with science fiction is the Stars Wars trilogies, Douglas Adams, the ‘Serendipity’ and Riddick movies, and the online MMO – Astro Empires. It’s a bit strange that I did not explore this avenue a bit more in my literary youth, since space flight and astronomy are such key interests in my life. I had so much science fiction at my disposal in school, which I often overlooked in favour of fantasy novels. Well, no matter… I will make up for it now.

The Count of Celenic Earth

Leave a Reply

